5 Hydrating Skincare Products My Mom, Sister, and I Use Every Winter

Publish date: 2024-05-02

Over the holidays, my family — including my parents, my sister’s family, and my brother’s family — traveled to Costa Rica together for a relaxing getaway. One night at dinner, my mom, sister, sister-in-law, and I (ages 42 to 75) were talking about our skincare routines (both to protect from the hot, drying sun on vacation and repair from the dry, cold temperature at home), so I decided to pry. After all, I’m a shopping editor, so it would be a disservice for me not to discover and spill their anti-aging secrets. 

After our chat, I walked away with five beauty finds loved by some of the women in my family, which offer anti-wrinkle, plumping, and moisturizing benefits to repair skin. They shared their secret to minimizing crow’s feet with eye serums, keeping their face hydrated and protected with SPF creams, and reducing the appearance of fine lines with face masks. Here are some of their skincare must-haves that they swear by and use daily, especially during the winter, and they’re all available at Nordstrom.

My Family’s 5 Skincare Favorites at Nordstrom

Dior Totale Super Potent Eye Serum

Nordstrom

This Dior eye serum is a go-to for my 50-year-old sister-in-law, and she calls it her “favorite.” The cooling roller ball applicator that gently targets every angle is just as rewarding and effective as the ingredients, according to my sister-in-law, thanks to its ability to instantly soothe tired and puffy eyes. She also uses it to brighten her circles and reduce the appearance of wrinkles with ingredients like niacinamide to smooth skin, peony root extract to nourish skin, jasmine extract to calm inflammation, and more.

Clinique Moisture Surge Broad Spectrum SPF 28 Sheer Hydrator

Nordstrom